Anything I’m Fermenting

October 4, 2008

Louisiana Style Hot Sauce

Over the summer I grew several hot pepper plants. One was a jalapeno, the other a banana pepper. They were quite productive, ripening many peppers all at once. Unfortunately, I don’t use THAT much hot pepper when I cook, so I needed ways to preserve them. Back at the beginning of September I harvested a bunch of peppers and after cutting them in half (to speed the drying) I strung them on string and hung them to dry. This worked well given the warm and dry weeks that followed.

Today I picked the last of the peppers, and I know well that they would not be able to dry well outdoors due to the cold and damp of October. Further, there have been fruitflies about the apartment recently, so I was worried about drying them indoors. So, (enough of the excuses) that left fermenting them!

Kept it very simple:

200 g ripe jalapeno and banana peppers

15 g sea salt (so about 7% salt by weight???)

Chopped up the peppers and salt in the food processor. Put the salted peppers in a little plastic sandwich container and placed on my fridge. I think I’ll let ferment for a month or so, then puree them and bottle; another month or two of aging in the fridge should finish it off!

Here are a few pics of the process:

3 Comments »

  1. OMG! I swear to god fermenting fans have a mind of their own. I was JUST thinking of making hot sauce last week, as I have been on a hot sauce craze for the last month.

    I really want to know how this goes. Some people say the use of white vinegar is better than allowing it to ferment to produce lactic acid aka “fresh hot sauce”, others say the opposite.

    Comment by takadi — October 6, 2008 @ 3:18 am | Reply

  2. Yes, the fermenters’ hive-mind at work.
    “Some people say the use of white vinegar is better than allowing it to ferment”…but really, are you going to listen to those people? Pickling in vinegar just does not create the complex flavours to be had from fermentation.
    It’s been 2 days now, and it’s not doing much. I think a few bubbles have formed. By this point the kimchi would be going nuts.
    One idea I had was to add a little white wine vinegar at the end – I’ve heard they often contain viable Acetobacter, so you’d get the acetic and lactic acid tastes going.
    Speaking of Acetobacter, maybe that’ll be the next fermentation project…

    Comment by iwouldntlivethere — October 6, 2008 @ 4:27 am | Reply

  3. […] Made Vinegar, Making Vinegar at Home, Malt Vinegar, Vinagar As I wrote my reply to Tadaki on his comment on the Louisiana Hot Sauce post, I realized there was a fermented product I use quite often, but had […]

    Pingback by An obvious next fermentation… « Anything I’m Fermenting — October 9, 2008 @ 4:13 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

